Rushmore: Ost (LP)

  • $38.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Rushmore is a 1998 soundtrack to the Wes Anderson film of the same name. The songs mostly blend raw, adolescent urges and insecurity with an awkward grace, composed primarily of popular music from the 1960s. Continuing with its soundtrack initiative, UMe will be reissuing this classic soundtrack back on vinyl for the first time in years.

The 1998 Wes Anderson Film, Rushmore, starred Bill Murray, Jason Schwartzman, Olivia Williams, Seymour Cassel, and Luke Wilson. The soundtrack was scored by Mark Mothersbaugh and also features music by The Kinks, Cat Stevens, The Who, John Lennon, Zoot Sims, Faces, and more!

Wes Anderson writes in a booklet:

"I originally wanted to score the whole movie of 'Rushmore' with songs by the Kinks. I thought this made sense because the Kinks played loud, angry, teenage rock songs, and they wore blazers and ties; and our movie is about a teenager who is loud and angry, and he is almost never seen without his blazer and tie (until he switches to a green velvet suit). I eventually expanded this concept to include the whole British invasion, because they all basically dressed like that. Then we did some research and started making tapes labeled SCHOOL MOVIE MUSIC, which I listened to on road trips while we were writing the script. Sometimes I put the same song on a tape five or six times in a row, because your mind wanders when you're on the road, and repetition helps you focus your concentration. We played lots of this music on the set during the shoot in Houston with a Bose stereo that Bill Murray got for us. My assistant had to lug the Bose around and get electricians to give her extension cables, and the inconvenience of that eventually led her to quit, although there were probably other factors which I don't know about. At the end of the shoot Murray gave the Bose to one of the make-up people. The only song we used* that's not British Invasion is the Yves Montand rendition of 'Rue St. Vincent', but I think that's a good one to stand on its own.

Thanks very much, and I hope you enjoy this album."

- Wes Anderson

*(Except Zoot Sims and Mark Mothersbaugh.)

Side A

  • A1 Mark Mothersbaugh– Hardest Geometry Problem In The World 1:29
  • A2 Creation*– Making Time  2:55
  • A3 Unit 4 + 2*– Concrete & Clay 2:17
  • A4 The Kinks– Nothing In This World Can Stop Me Worrin' Bout That Girl 2:43
  • A5 Mark Mothersbaugh– Sharp Little Guy 0:43
  • A6 Mark Mothersbaugh– The Lad With The Silver Button 1:00
  • A7 Chad & Jeremy– A Summer Song 2:37
  • A8 Mark Mothersbaugh– Edward Appleby (In Memoriam) 0:43
  • A9 Cat Stevens– Here Comes My Baby 2:55
  • A10 The Who– A Quick One While He's Away 8:41

Side B

  • B1 Mark Mothersbaugh– Snowflake Music (From Bottlerocket) 0:38
  • B2 Mark Mothersbaugh– Piranhas Are A Very Tricky Species 1:20
  • B3 Zoot Sims– Blinuet 4:35
  • B4 Mark Mothersbaugh– Friends Like You, Who Needs Friends 1:24
  • B5 Yves Montand– Rue St. Vincent 3:22
  • B6 Mark Mothersbaugh– Kite Flying Society 1:19
  • B7 Cat Stevens– The Wind 1:40
  • B8 John Lennon– Oh Yoko 4:16
  • B9 Faces – Ooh La La 3:28
  • B10 Mark Mothersbaugh– Margaret Yang's Theme 1:17