Donna Leon: The Commissario Guido Brunetti Movie Mysteries Collection (DVD)

Donna Leon: The Commissario Guido Brunetti Movie Mysteries Collection (DVD)

  • $149.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Murder, Venice, relationships... it's a delicious concoction in the hands of crime novelist Donna Leon. Venice provides the backdrop for the lush versions of Leon's bestselling novels made for German television, which feature the singular Commissario Guido Brunetti, canal boat rides instead of car chases, fine cuisine and crime investigations in one of Europe's most beautiful locations. As first introduced to readers of Donna Leon's novels, Brunetti is a police inspector with a keen mind, razor-sharp wit and a touch of melancholy. In fact, his is probably the most melacholic expression in all of Venice. He strives to bring criminals to justice, but experience has taught him that countless things work against that - human frailty, corruption and police incompetence being chief among them. It may be a Sisyphean task but the impossibility galvanizes his resolve to tackle head-on the ominous intertwining of economy, politics and crime. He takes refuge from the job in the company of his loving wife Paola, a university literature professor, and two teenage children, Raffi and Chiara. The charismatic inspector also receives professional support from Sergeant Vianello, who is as loyal as he is capable, while his smug superior, Vice-Questore Patta continues to hinder him in his work. On the other hand, Patta's secretary, Signorina Elettra pushes Brunetti's investigations forward again and again by providing him with information from sources that never cease to amaze him, even after years of working together. Filmed around Venice and its lagoon, which is UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries illuminate the human condition and bring the wonders of Venice into your home.

This nine DVD set includes the following episodes based on Donna Leon's novels:


The Anonymous Venetian

Fatal Remedies

A Noble Radiance

Death at La Fenice

Friends in High Places

Quietly in Their Sleep

Acqua Alta

Doctored Evidence

Uniform Justice

Death in a Strange Country

A Sea of Troubles

Willful Behavior

Blood from a Stone

Through a Glass Darkly

Suffer the Little Children

The Girl of His Dreams

Looks are Deceiving


  • 9-DVD SET
  • 1595 MINUTES
  • NR