Flamingos, The: Collection 1953-61 (CD)

Flamingos, The: Collection 1953-61 (CD)

  • $24.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Universally hailed as one of the finest and most influential vocal groups in pop music history

The Flamingos were one of the many doowop vocal groups of the 1950s whose group name was borrowed from that of a bird - The Robins, The Penguins, The Orioles and The Ravens were among the others. They are regarded as one of the genre's very best and most talented groups, and Billboard magazine wrote of them: "Universally hailed as one of the finest and most influential vocal groups in pop music history, the Flamingos defined doo wop at its most elegant and sophisticated." Like so many of their peers, they suffered from the fact that one of their biggest R&B hits was covered for the pop market by a mainstream artist - in their case, it was Pat Boone recording their landmark song "I'll Be Home" to score a pop No. 1. This great value 80-track 3-CD set comprises almost all the titles which they release during this primary period of their career, and comprises all their A & B sides released on the Chance, Parrot, Checker, Decca and End labels along with the tracks from their first three LPs "The Flamingos", "Flamingo Serenade" and "Flamingo Favourites" which were not otherwise released on singles. It naturally includes all the dozen or so hits they had during this time, including "I'll Be Home", and their biggest pop hit "I Only Have Eyes For You". Including substantial booklet notes, this provides an entertaining overview of their most important work, ranging with ease across R&B, rock 'n' roll and ballad styles, and is a worthy showcase for their distinctive talent.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
    • Someday, Someway
    • If I Can't Have You
    • That's My Desire
    • Hurry Home Baby
    • Golden Teardrops
    • Carried Away
    • Plan For Love
    • You Ain't Ready
    • Cross Over The Bridge
    • Listen To My Plea
    • Dream Of A Lifetime
    • On My Merry Way
    • Blues In A Letter
    • Jump Children
    • I Really Don't Want To Know
    • Get With It
    • I'm Yours
    • Ko Ko Mo
    • When
    • (Chick-A-Boom) That's My Baby
    • Please Come Back Home
    • I Want To Love You
    • I'll Be Home
    • Need Your Love
    • A Kiss From Your Lips
Disc 2:
      • The Vow
      • Shilly Dilly
      • Would I Be Crying
      • Just For A Kick
      • The Ladder Of Love
      • Let's Make Up
      • Helpless
      • My Faith In You
      • Where Mary Go
      • The Rock And Roll March
      • Lovers Never Say Goodbye
      • That Love Is You
      • Whispering Stars
      • But Not For Me
      • I Shed A Tear At Your Wedding
      • Love Walked In
      • At The Prom
      • I Only Have Eyes For You
      • Goodnight Sweetheart
      • Ever Since I Met Lucy
      • Kiss-A-Me
      • Yours
      • Jerri-Lee
      • Hey Now!
      • I Was Such A Fool
      • Heavenly Angel
      • Mio Amore
Disc 3:
      • You, Me And The Sea
      • Nobody Loves Me
      • Besame Mucho
      • At Night
      • When I Fall In Love
      • Beside You
      • Your Other Love
      • Lovers Gotta Cry
      • That's Why I Love You
      • Time Was
      • Dream Girl
      • Stolen Love
      • Chickie Umbah
      • Nobody's Love
      • Music Maestro Please
      • I'm In The Mood For Love
      • Begin The Beguine
      • As Time Goes By
      • The Breeze And I
      • Where Or When
      • Maria Elena
      • Sweet And Lovely
      • Crazy, Crazy, Crazy
      • Tell Me How Long
      • My Foolish Heart
      • You Belong To My Heart
      • Bridge Of Tears